THE 1950's

The first Rebel regatta was sailed in 1950. By 1952, the National Rebel Class Association was firmly established and one-design rules were strictly enforced. Bill Berger was champion that year. The decade of the 50's saw the continued development of the boat and the continued development of the Association. The Rebel Rabble newsletter was printed with some regularity and portrayed a fun loving, hard traveling group of sailing aficionados.

SOLITUDE ON THE DOCK The Rebel, a 16 foot sloop, and the sailing association that formed around it, the National Rebel Class Association, was proving to be a popular family boat and activity. Rebels with colorful names, such as "Chlorophyll" and "Puff-A-Long" were being sailed by men and women of all ages.
The championship races, called the Nationals, were held at various locations in Ohio and Michigan and generally drew 20 to 35 competitors. The highlight of the 1955 event was the introduction of the Libby-Owens-Ford trophy, a spectacular glass-sculpted perpetual award that is passed along each year to the new champion skipper. In 1958 Paul Garty became Commodore followed by John McNeal in 1959.

Records from the 1950's are scarce, but we do know the National Champions:
  • 1952 Bill Berger-Clark Lake YC Clark Lake MI
  • 1953 Bruce Rehlen-Clark Lake YC Clark Lake MI
  • 1954 Eldred Kennedy - Clark Lake Yacht Club, Clarklake, MI
  • 1955 Robert Wilson - Kaiser Lake Yacht Club, Greenville, OH
  • 1956 Ludwig Fromme - Toledo Sailing Club, Toledo, OH
  • 1957 Bruce Goldsmith - Devil's Lake Yacht Club, Manitou Beach, MI
  • 1958 Bruce Goldsmith - Devil's Lake Yacht Club, Manitou Beach, MI
  • 1959 Bobbe Herndon (first woman champion) - Island Bay YC, Springfield,IL